Texas voters tasked with deciding on seven amendments to the state's constitution

Texas voters tasked with deciding on seven amendments to the state's constitution. (ABC 7 Amarillo)

Early voting in Texas begins on October 23, and for this constitutional election, the proposed amendments to Texas' constitution will focus on many areas of public policy including taxes, banking and housing.

Earlier this year, more than 150 joint resolutions were presented during the legislative process, but only seven were passed. Those proposed amendments will be offered for approval by the voters of Texas on the November 7, 2017, election ballot.

Here is a list of the proposed amendments.

Proposition 1- Homestead exemption for partially donated homes of disabled veterans.

Proposition 2- Revising home equity loan provisions.

Proposition 3- Limiting terms for certain appointees of the governor.

Proposition 4- Court notice to attorney general of constitutional challenge to state laws

Proposition 5- Amending eligibility requirements for sports team charitable raffles

Proposition 6- Homestead exemption for surviving spouses of certain first responders.

Proposition 7- Authorizing Legislature to allow banks to hold raffles promoting savings

For more information on the Constitutional Amendment Election, click here.

Voting Deadlines:

First day of Early Voting - October 23, 2017

Last day to apply to vote by mail - October 27, 2017

Weekend Early Voting - October 28, 2017

Last day of Early Voting November 3, 2017

Election Day November 7, 2017

Click below for voting information for Texas Panhandle counties (this will be updated as information becomes available):

Armstrong County

Briscoe County

Carson County

Castro County

Childress County

Collingsworth County

Dallam County

Deaf Smith County

Donely County

Gray County

Hall County

Hansford County

Hartley County

Hemphill County

Hutchinson County

Lipscomb County

Moore County

Ochiltree County

Oldham County

Parmer County

Potter County

Randall County

Roberts County

Sherman County

Swisher County

Wheeler County

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off