Lone Star Conference media day recap

The West Texas A&M Buffaloes were the talk of the 2013 Lone Star Conference media day down in Ft. Worth.

Besides being the favorite in the LSC preseason football poll, QB Dustin Vaughan was voted preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while Buff D-Lineman Ethan Westbrooks was voted preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

In other news McMurry University in Abilene will officially join the LSC in 2014 putting the league back at 8 teams. With the arrival of the War Hawks the conference will now have a playoff in the final two weeks of the regular season to crown an LSC Champion, that also starts in 2014.

LSC Football Preseason Poll

1. West Texas A&M (16)

2. Midwestern St. (3)

3. Tarleton St. (1)

4. A&M Kingsville (1)

5. Angelo St.

6. Eastern New Mexico

7. A&M Commerce