Buffs Dominate Daktronics All-Super Region 4 Football Team; Vaughan Tabbed Player of the Year

West Texas A&M senior quarterback Dustin Vaughan continues to rack up the accolades as he was named Daktronics All-Super Region Four Offensive Player of the Year, highlighting nine Buffaloes who earned all-region first team honors.

The Buffs had nine selections to the first team and none on the second team to lead the way. Colorado State-Pueblo had seven selections total with two first teamers and five second team selections, while Ohio Dominican and Midwestern State each had five honorees total. Colorado State-Pueblo defensive lineman Darius Allen earned Defensive Player of the Year accolades.

WT garnered six first team offensive selections. Including Vaughan, senior offensive lineman Terrance Harris and Craig Watts were named to the team, along with senior wide receiver Torrence Allen and senior return specialist Nathan Slaughter. Senior kicker Sergio Castillo also was named to the first team.

Defensively, the Buffs had three selections in senior defensive lineman Ethan Westbrooks who earned region and national Defensive Player of the Year honors last season. Senior linebacker Taylor McCuller also was named to the team as was senior safety Curtis Slater.

Westbrooks, Castillo and Allen were first team all-region selections last season, while Vaughan and McCuller were second team honorees. Castillo earned Westbrooks earned Daktronics First Team All-America accolades last season.

The Buffs travel to Grand Valley State in Allendale, Mich., for a NCAA Quarterfinal matchup Saturday at 12 p.m.