Canyon students named as National Merit Scholars

Five students at Canyon High School have been singled out for what they've done. They placed among the top 5 percent of the more than 1.5 million students who entered a National Scholarship Program.

About when they were juniors in high school, these students really got the focusing on their higher education and dreaming of achieving great things. Those students are Trevor Ferril, Sierra Miller, Conner Parker, Chiles Spencer and Meagan Taylor. All have been named Commended students in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.

"It's a competition between all the, well you start when you're a junior, so between all the juniors across the nation, you're competing bases on what PSAT score you get," said Parker.

Placing in the top 5 percent out of a million is quite an accomplishment the students say is worth celebrating.

"I'm really excited, not as exciting a semi-finalist or finalist would of been, but it's definitely nice getting the recognition of just National Merit combination in general," said Miller.

"Sort of bummed because I really wanted to get to finalist because a lot of colleges offer really good scholarships for finalist and commended is still a big deal," said Parker.

Though the students will not receive full scholarships to places like Baylor, or other big universities, they'll still be eligible for a big chunk of money that will help them achieve their dreams.

"It makes me eligible for a lot more money which will be nice because I'll be able to go anywhere I want. It makes it a lot easier to go to an expensive school," said Parker.

As far as Canyon High school, they could not be more proud of their students. "To have the five kids in the top 5 percent in the nation it's a great honor for our school especially for those kids, but also our teachers and their cohorts that are there with them," said Tim Gilliland, Canyon High School Principal.

An honor that will help push these students toward an outstanding secondary education and will help pick up most of the bill.

Only 8,300 students will be chosen as Merit Scholarship winners. They'll be named in March 2013.