Amarillo Habitat director wins seat on statewide board

Habitat for Humanity Texas today announced that Chas Massey, executive director of Habitat for Humanity of Amarillo was elected to its statewide board of directors, making one of 14 board members in this statewide position.

â??Chas has extraordinary expertise in the nonprofit sector, and we are delighted that she is joining Habitat Texasâ?? board of directors,â?? said Celeste Cox, Habitat Texas Board President.

Since April 2013, Chas has served as the executive director of Amarillo Habitat for Humanity, Inc. She brings a background in non-profit development and communications work as well as marketing, public relations, event planning, and business owner to the role of Habitat for Humanity Texas board member.

â??Chas embodies the spirit of community and brings talent, expertise and energy to the statewide organization. Her effective leadership in Amarillo has already made a difference, and she will undoubtedly bring the same enthusiasm and skill to this new position,â?? said Amy Ledbetter Parham, Habitat for Humanity Texas executive director.

Chas has a BBA in Management from West Texas A&M University. She has served on many non-profit boards including the Hope & Healing Place, the Ronald McDonald House, the Don Harrington Discovery Center, and as President of the Junior League of Amarillo. She was a charter member of the City of Amarilloâ??s Amarillo Zoological Society. She was born and raised in Amarillo and has deep roots in the community.

â??I am honored to join the Habitat Texas board and work with this exceptional team,â?? Massey said. â??Habitat Texas has been working for almost 10 years to support Habitat affiliates across Texas through advocacy in the Texas legislature on affordable housing policy, providing training to Habitat affiliates, and help planning for disasters. I look forward to sharing my experiences and contributing to the future direction and growth of the organization.â??

Other newly elected board members are David Bills, Doug Foster, Steven Leggett, Miki Lynn, Laurie Mealy, and Jack Wilson.