AISD announces Teacher of the Year finalists

Amarillo Independent School District

(AISD) elementary and secondary Teacher of the Year were announced this afternoon in an email from the Teacher of the Year committee.

These teachers represent hard working educators throughout the school district. Each year, six finalists are chosen, three each from elementary and secondary schools.

"We take this opportunity to recognize our Teachers of the Year because they are representative of the quality of talented and dedicated teachers we have in our schools," Denise Blancard, program director for community partnerships said.

Elementary finalists:

Melynn Freeman, Coronado

Toni Salinas, South Lawn

Allison Woodington, Carver Early Childhood

Secondary finalists:

Jill Bradford, Austin Middle School

Jennifer Garner, Caprock High School

Shanna Peeples, Palo Duro High School

All campus winners are invited to the Lamar Lively Teacher of the Year breakfast in May where their commitment to education will be recognized. Announced at the breakfast are the District Teachers of the Year.